top of page

St. Michael's celebrated the fortieth anniversary of our founding in the summer of 2016.  At that time several parishioners (including a few of the founding members) undertook to write a detailed history of the congregation.  You can read that history by clicking on the link below, or simply scroll down for some of the highlights of our life and ministry further down the page.  

To read the complete version of the history of St. Michael's, click here.

1976 St. Michael's was founded in February by about 40 members of St. John's, Norman. Services were first held in the recreation center of Westwood Park Apartments, then the United Campus Christian Fellowship at OU. In March, a small church building at 1423 24th Ave. SW was bought and the first service in that location was held Easter Sunday. The name, St. Michael's, was chosen in June. In Oct. we were admitted as a mission at the Diocesan Convention. The Rev. Wallis Ohl became the first Vicar by the end of 1976.
1980 In July ground was broken for the present building. St. Michael's became a parish at Diocesan Convention.

1981 In July, the new building was dedicated and consecrated.
1982 The Education wing was leased to the Southwind Montessori School.
1983 Jon Roberts became the organist/choir director.
1987 The First annual Community Christmas Dinner was held at St. Michael's.
1991 Fr. Ohl resigned to become rector of St. Michael's, Colorado Springs. In June, Lynn Woodward was ordained a Deacon.
1992 Fr. Rick Burris became Rector in March.
1995 The Memorial Garden was completely redesigned with the interior to serve as a perpetual columbarium.
1996 Celebrated 20 years and welcomed Fr. Theron Walker as he began a two-year curacy with us and St. Anselm's. Memorial Garden was rededicated in September. In November, Jon Roberts resigned and Clyde Morris became organist/choir director.
1997 Began a building expansion program.
2001 Moved into our new spaces -- the nursery, class rooms, youth room, bookstore, library, vesting room, choir room and chapel.
2002 Dedicated the columbarium in the chapel, given in memory of Francis Cella.
2004 The stained glass window above the Nave entrance was installed as a memorial to Fred Shellabarger. In August, Fr. Rick Burris resigned to become the Comptroller for the Diocese of Oklahoma.
2005 In August, Fr. Jack Wilcox became our Rector.
2006 In July, Janet Schisser was ordained to the Diaconate and served at St. Michael's.
2007 In August, Laura Blazek came on board as a paid staff member, serving as Formation Director, working with our Youth and Education programs.
2008 In April, Fr. Jack Wilcox resigned as our Rector. In May, we welcomed Fr. David Egbert as our interim Rector, burned the mortgage our building expansion program, and took time to appreciate new additions to our memorial garden. Our search for a new rector began in September.
2010 In January, Fr. Alan Sutherland became our new Rector.
2014 In November, Fr. Alan Sutherland retired. We welcomed Fr. Tom King as our interim Rector.
2016 In August, Fr. Jason Haddox arrived to become the new rector of St. Michael's.
2020 In September Fr. Jason announced his resignation. In November we welcomed Fr. Brent Carey as our interim Rector 

Fr. Brent left us after a couple months because of health reasons.

2021 Ash Wednesday, Rev. Dr. Dawn Enderwood joined us as out Interim Priest.

2022 Easter, we started the search process for a new permanent priest. By Advent, we welcomed Fr. Joseph Farber became our Priest-in-Charge. 

bottom of page